The 12th edition of The State of the Union was held on 5-7 May and was titled “A Europe Fit for the Next Generation?”. The conference focused on the European Union’s role in a constantly evolving global landscape. Leaders and experts addressed a variety of issues, such as multilateral governance, sustainability and resilience; democracy and the rule of law; attitudes to migration; the future of digitalisation; and how crises can fuel change. The Next Generation EU recovery plan was a key topic of the conference, with prominent speakers discussing how it can address the damage inflicted by the pandemic. The conference also addressed the conflict in Ukraine, covering the crisis’s complex geopolitical, economic, and legal ramifications.

The event was in a hybrid format: 86% of speakers participated in person, a group of invited guests took part in the live event in Florence, while a specialised audience joined the event on a dedicated online platform. The entire conference was also live-streamed to a public around the world.

#SOU2022 counted  135  speakers,  43  sessions, 5 overarching streams and 40 recording hours.
Over 500 people attended the event in person while nearly 11,500 people attended via the live stream, the digital event platform and the EUI YouTube channel. SOU2022 was supported by 41 local and international partners  whose collaboration was instrumental in its success.

The programme and the entire content of the conference was shaped by the Scientific Committee, which was composed of influential experts and academics from the EUI community.

Re-watch #SOU2022!

Organised by the  European University Institute, The State of the Union once again represented a unique opportunity for the worlds of academia, policymaking, business, media, and civil society to come together and come up with constructive proposals for a more effective EU action.

Have a look at the Final Report to find out more!

Speakers line up

Josep Borrell Fontelles

High Representative/Vice-President, European Commission

Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus

Director-General, World Health Organization

Roberta Metsola

President, European Parliament

Ana Brnabić

Prime Minister, Republic of Serbia

Damian Boeselager

Member of the European Parliament, Volt

Teresa Ribera Rodríguez

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for the Ecological Transition, Spain

Eva Maydell

Member, European Parliament and President, European Movement International

Elisa Ferreira

Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms, European Commission

Dubravka Šuica

Vice-President for Democracy and Demography, European Commission

Kadri Simson

Energy Commissioner, European Commission

Věra Jourová

Vice-President for Values and Transparency, European Commission

Fatih Birol

Executive Director, International Energy Agency

Check out all our speakers

Media Partners

Logo Euronews
Logo Financial Times
Logo Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
Logo Politico
Logo TG COM 24

Institutional Partners

Logo Regione Torscana Consiglio Regionale


Logo Banca d’Italia
Logo Bertelsmann Stiftung
Logo Co-funded by the European Union
Logo Comune di Firenze
Logo Confindustria Firenze
Logo European Investment Bank (SOU)
Logo European Media and Information Fund
Logo European Parliament
Logo Florence School of Regulation, FSR
Logo Fondazione Cariplo
Logo Fondazione CR Firenze
Logo McKinsey Global Institute
Logo Meta
Logo Microsoft
Logo Open Society Foundations
Logo PagoPa
Logo Poste Italiane
Logo Regione Toscana
Logo Ripple
Logo YouGov

Supporting Partners

Logo AssoCantuccini
Logo Badiani
Logo Caffè Corsini
Logo Carapelli
Logo Chianti Trambusti
Logo Chiaverini
Logo Consorzio del Pane Toscano Dop
Logo Destination Florence
Logo Fattoria Corzano e Paterno
Logo Fattoria di Maiano
Logo Fondazione dell’Ordine dei Giornalisti della Toscana
Logo Fonderia del cacao
Logo Giotto Fanti fresh
Logo Gruppo alimentare Valtiberino
Logo Hoster Food
Logo I.N.P.A.
Logo JD Events
Logo Mukki
Logo Nuova Tripperia Fiorentina
Logo Pioda
Logo Publiacqua
Logo Ravvin
Logo Tecnoconference – TC Group
Logo The Social Hub
Logo Università Cucina Italiana

The EC supports the EUI

In the framework of